Autumn is one of the most beautiful seasons of Ontario and, after the last few weeks of the early fall color tour in the Kawarthas at the 39th. East of Toronto, it was time to explore the areas west of Toronto. My husband and I left on the highway, left Highway 401 at Mississauga Road and drove north into agricultural farmland. Our first interesting village was Glen Williams, a small hamlet outside Georgetown, whose former sawmill now houses more than 30 artists and artisans. We headed north along the picturesque Credit River and came across the Niagara Escarpment and literally stumbled on the Cheltenham Brickworks, an abandoned brick factory since 1930 that used the region's clay soil. to make bricks for the Toronto real estate boom. Abandoned industrial buildings always fascinate me strangely, and they offer great opportunities for curious photographers.
Not far away is another very special area, the Cheltenham Badlands, a unique geological formation of terra cotta-tinted rocks, native to a result of deforestation and overgrazing in the early 1900s. a fascinating landscape of wavy hills of red clay with greenish stripes, due to the red and gray iron oxide content of the soil.
The 800-kilometer Bruce Trail that runs from Niagara Falls to Bruce Point The peninsula winds through this region, and there are several points of entry nearby. The Niagara Escarpment is a truly unique habitat that is home to 300 species of birds, 53 mammals, 36 reptiles and amphibians, 90 fish and 100 varieties of plants of special interest, including 37 types of plants. 39, wild orchids. The Niagara Escarpment was designated World Biosphere Reserve by UNESCO in 1990. It is a popular place among hikers and naturalists.
We headed east and down the Niagara Escarpment and we headed north to Forks of the Credit. Belfountain village. This popular excursion destination was founded in 1820 by Scottish and Irish immigrants, many of whom worked in local quarries, railroads, mills and tanneries. Today, the village has souvenir shops, a beautiful store, a spa and a glacier.
From Belfountain, we crossed the town of Erin towards Wellington County, a region of fertile farmland, dotted with rivers, gorges, small lakes and golf courses. Our next stop on this road was the small town of Fergus, a town known for its Scottish heritage that Fergus celebrates every year, usually during the second week of August, with the Fergus Scottish Festival. During this three-day event, visitors from all over the world enjoy all aspects of traditional Highland games with a little modern flair.
Fergus owns a number of historic buildings in the city center. this small town is the Fergus Market, located in the historic Beatty Brothers Farm Manufacturing Building that overlooks the Beatty Dam and dates back to the 1830s. The foundry was the first industrial site in Fergus and now houses a collection diversified merchants, food retailers and artisans.
Just outside Fergus is the Wellington County Museum and Archives. The museum majestically dominates the Grand River once charged with mills. Built in 1877 with limestone quarried from the region as House of Industry and Refuge, this historic structure has sheltered for nearly a century the "poor deserving", the elderly and the elderly. homeless. The museum now gives visitors the opportunity to discover the cultural heritage left behind by intrepid settlers in this vast county of rolling hills, stony fields, deep gorges and picturesque villages.
A few miles from the city of Elora, one of Ontario's favorite weekend trip destinations. Elora is located in a beautiful natural region with glacial rock formations, and its most amazing geological feature is the Elora River that dives on a number of rapids in the spectacular Elora Gorge. The mill located at the top of the gorge, rightly called the Elora mill, has been transformed into a gourmet upscale restaurant and country inn with 32 rooms.
Elora Gorge features several miles of 80-foot cliffs, caves, rapids and calm pools. During the summer, hiking along the cliffs and inner tubes through the gorge are favorite hobbies. Hiking trails start directly from the Elora mill. During the winter months, visitors engage in cross-country skiing and nature walks. The Grand River also offers excellent fly fishing, canoeing and kayaking opportunities.
The Elora-Cataract Trail crosses 47 kilometers of picturesque landscapes. Between Fergus and Elora, the trail passes through the Elora Quarry's conservation area, an abandoned quarry that is a favorite spot for a refreshing swim. The tranquil farmlands around Elora are perfect for long bike rides and many golf courses complement the activities on offer.
During our visit yesterday, Elora was prettily dressed for Halloween – a variety of ghouls, ghosts, spiders, monsters and witches adorned buildings, balconies and lampposts along the city's main streets. The city also offers a variety of shops, antique stories, galleries and various dining establishments. Carriage rides in the city are also a popular activity for tourists.
Not far from Elora, you can visit the last covered bridge of Ontario in Montrose, and you will have the opportunity to explore the Mennonite country of the Old Order. The summer brings a variety of festivals in this region, including the Elora Festival which is a musical showcase for a month of internationally renowned musicians and singers.
About 15 minutes south of Elora is the main city of this region: Guelph is a university and manufacturing city with a population of over 100,000 inhabitants. Its diversified economy also includes high-tech companies, and today Guelph is one of the fastest growing economic regions in Canada. Like Fergus and Elora, Guelph was founded by Scottish settlers in the 1820s at the junction of the rivers Eramosa and Speed. The Department of Scottish Studies at the University of Guelph links academic research to the community of people of Scottish descent. The city offers many trails for hiking, biking, skiing and horseback riding as well as a variety of fine dining establishments by the river. is the impressive Church of Our Lady Immaculate, a neo-Gothic structure begun in 1877 and completed in 1888. The twin towers, over 200 feet tall, were only completed in 1926 The Church of Our Lady Immaculate is one of the largest
This time we did not have the opportunity to explore Guelph in detail as it was beginning to arrive late in the afternoon and we had to go back. But there will be another moment to explore this beautiful historic city and other surrounding communities. But our little out-of-town tour was a perfect Saturday getaway to explore the history and countryside just outside of Toronto.