7 elements of interior design


Interior design is the art of enhancing the interiors, including the exterior, in order to obtain a clever environment for the user. And we can also say that it is the process of forming the experience of the interior space, spatial volume manipulation as well as surface treatment for the improvement of human functionality . An interior architect has plans, researches, coordinates and manages projects.

There are 7 elements of Interior Design:

1. Space

The space is one of the most important parts of interior design. The space serves as the basis for the construction of all the interior layout. It is therefore essential that the designer be familiar with the available space, its dimensions and its utilities.

2. Line

Lines are generally classified into three types: horizontal, vertical, and dynamic. While horizontal lines adorn structures such as tables, chairs and beds, vertical lines can be found on windows and doors, while horizontal lines add a sense of security to the space. Dynamic or angular, action-oriented lines add drama and can be seen on structures such as stairs.

3. shapes

Shapes mean shapes in general, a glimpse of any three-dimensional object in space. Shapes can be created by combining two or more shapes and can be accented with different elements such as texture, patterns and colors.

4. Light

Light is one of the most obvious elements of interior design. Whether natural or artificial, without light, the other elements, namely color, texture and pattern have no meaning. The light sets the mood and mood in a living space and highlights other elements, including space, line and shapes.

5. Color

Colors do not need a special introduction. The colors establish an aesthetic affiliation between the objects and create the atmosphere. The colors should be chosen according to the psychology and state of mind of the inhabitant. As an example, red is an excellent choice for the dining room as it encourages appetite and green for the bedroom as it is the color of tranquility and health . Each color has three distinct characteristics, namely Hue, Value and Intensity, and an interior architect must be well aware of these characteristics to perform various permutations and combinations. Colors are generally classified into two categories: primary and secondary colors.

6. Texture

The texture mainly treats surfaces and determines the appearance and feel of a typical surface. The texture adds depth and interest to the room and defines the feel / appearance and consistency of a surface. The texture is usually classified into two types – Visual Texture where the texture is only visible and Real Texture where the texture is both seen and felt. Everything related to textiles such as pillowcases, bedspreads or everything about blankets like curtains, wall painting or wallpapers has a texture.


Patterns add interest and life to interior design and work with colors. The motifs tell a story of their own and add the elements of continuity and transition smoothly into a room. The patterns can be in any shape and include mainly attractive and repetitive patterns.


Source by Charles Hsu

About the author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.